Back You are here: Home Activity Seminars Seminar by Dr Omar Hussain

Seminar by Dr Omar Hussain

Topic

Cloud Service Management for Improving Business Productivity

Date & Venue 

Date: 9 October 2014,

Time: 12:15pm - 13:15pm

Venue: Univeristy of New South Wales UNSW@ Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA)

Abstract

Cloud computing is a very attractive option for business users because of the benefits it provides. A major concern among service users regarding cloud adoption, however, is the unpredictability of performance in relation to the services provided. Even though guarantees in the form of service-level agreements are provided to users by service providers, real time service-level degradability remains a critical concern; hence, there is a need for an approach that assists users to manage a service before it fails. The approaches proposed in the literature assess and evaluate the performance of the cloud infrastructure of providers, but this does not guarantee that a given service instance will meet the desired quality level because there may be factors other than the provider’s infrastructure that will affect the level of quality of the service instance. In this paper, we present an approach that measures the quality of a service instance in real time and provides important analysis for service users as to whether they will achieve their desired objectives. This analysis also constitutes an important input for service users in the assessment and management of a service to avoid the failure to achieve objectives.

Bio

Dr Omar Khadeer Hussain is currently a Lecturer at the School of Business, UNSW Canberra. Prior to joining the School in February 2014, he worked as a Senior Research Fellow at Curtin University. Omar’s research areas of interest are Logistics and Supply Chain Management, Distributed and Grid Systems, Decision Support, Group Support Systems and their applications to Logistics areas

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149