Back You are here: Home Activity Seminars DEBII Candidacy Presentation by Sazia Parvin

DEBII Candidacy Presentation by Sazia Parvin

Digital Ecosystem and Business intelligence (DEBII)Institute

PhD candidacy
Security for Spectrum Management in Cognitive Radio
Ad-hocNetworks

Sazia Parvin
Supervisor: Dr. Song Han
Co-supervisor: Dr. Vidyasagar Potdar, Dr. Chen Wu
Chairperson: Dr. Maja Hadzic

Venue and Time
Date: Friday 19th March 2010
Time: 9.30am.

Location: DEBII Board Room Enterprise Unit 4, De Laeter Way, Techpark

RSVP: by Wednesday 17th March 2010 (essential for catering purpose)

Abstract

Cognitive Radio (CR) has been considered as a promising concept for improving the utilization of limited radio spectrum resources for future wireless communications and mobile computing. As the applications of Cognitive Radio Networks (CRNs) become more complex and widespread, the security mechanisms to protect CRNs become increasingly important. Specifically, Cognitive Radio Ad Hoc networks (CRAHNS) have the distributed multi-hop architecture and the dynamic network topology. These make spectrum availability and secure communication be the key distinguishing factors in CRAHNs. Protecting against attacks in CRAHNs cannot be done through cryptographic means due to the operation of wireless link itself. This leaves spectrum management as an open research area in the CRAHNs security field. This research mainly focuses on some specific aspects of spectrum management for CRAHNs. The objectives are defining security model, defining new types of attacks in spectrum sensing, integrating authentication and fault-tolerance in spectrum management scheme, and exploring the feasibility of secure communication using white spectrum in CRAHNS. The final goal is to provide a guideline for the definition of security models and to propose secure, fault-tolerant and hierarchical spectrum management schemes for different applications in CRAHNs.

 

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149