Back You are here: Home Activity Industry Informatics Research REAL-TIME WIRELESS SENSOR AND COMMUNICATION

Secure Wireless Senor Network for Oil and Gas Industries

The "Secure Wireless Sensor Networks" project delivered a commercial grade technical report on time & within budget. The report illustrated many great opportunities in using Wireless Sensor Network technology in the resources, oil & gas fields. However, it also found significant security vulnerabilities, which must be addressed before adopting this technology for critical control & monitoring tasks. The document now forms a fundamental knowledge base within Statoil. Various extracts are now found within numerous internal policy documents. This successful outcome is the basis for a newly proposed "Decision Support" project.

Telecommunication Convergence

Organisational alliances are rapidly being formed as a means of effective cooperation with a common goal within a targeted value chain. The combination of such communication, coordination and cooperation leads to new organisational forms and scenarios within the Digital Ecosystem space that require technological support. Convergence refers to the move towards the use of a single united interaction medium and media. Such a solution enables telecommunication services that are concurrently coupled with enterprise and internet data. However, such converged telecommunications and data services have been largely restricted to static environments where fixed Personal Computers (PC) and network connections are used in conjunction with customised software tools that simulate pseudo converged sessions. Generally, data presented on the internet and in enterprise applications is not available in a mobile wireless environment. The diverse nature of this environment demands a feature-rich, flexible and widely accessible solution.

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149