Back You are here: Home Activity Defence Research and Education Celebration of the success in obtaining ARC Linkage partner- Fleetwood, the Australian owned largest caravan manufacturer

Celebration of the success in obtaining ARC Linkage partner- Fleetwood, the Australian owned largest caravan manufacturer

 Date: 9 September 2009
Location: DEBI Institute, Enterprise Unit 3, Technology Park

A joint effort between DEBI Institute and CIO Mr. Steve Wallis from Fleetwood has been successful after 2 years of close collaboration on research and development. The strong effort have been put in from DEBII by Dr Alex Talevski, Dr. Vidy Potdar, Professor E. Chang. The background of the project arises from the fact that the mining industry has introduced a new set of requirements on the camp for construction industry, in relation to the fabrication and assembly of temporary dwellings for employees. These are characterized by several features namely: (a) an ability to support work carried out at multiple sites where a significant portion of the work is carried out at sites remote from the mining sit, where primary materials and appropriate numbers of suitably skilled workers are available, transportation of large components to the remote mining site and final assembly of these at the mining site within a compressed timeframe; (b) the requirement to meet strict deadlines on construction so that the mining company does not experience delays in starting the required mining operations as any such delays are very costly with likely losses running into the millions of dollars. 

Mining companies often use the mechanism of getting the construction company to lodge a large bond to ensue the deadline is met; (c) a high degree of customization of the smart dwellings to suit different levels of employees and different terrains and environmental conditions.

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149